Awards

You won’t be surprised to hear that the Écho has won several awards in the past and some in the present. Although run by agroup of volunteers, overseen by another group of volunteers with more impressive titles, The Écho of Cantley is totally committed to quality.

We’ve never won a major newspaper award simply because of a conspiracy by large international newspaper conglomerates to prevent us from participating in their competitions and firmly routing them every year. That’s our best-formed conspiracy theory at least. You’ll find below a list of some of the awards we have, in fact, won:

Awards from l’Association des médias écrits communautaires du Québec (AMECQ)

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2008

  • 3rd place – Best press photography – Philippa Judd
  • Honourable Mention – Top Volunteer – Gustaaf Schoovaerts

2007

  • 3rd place – Best Paper (out of 92 members)
  • 2nd place – Top Factual Article – Isabelle Lessard
  • 2nd place – Top Interview – Isabelle Lessard
  • 2nd place – Top Opinion Piece – Chantal Turcotte
  • 2nd place – Best Column – Gustaaf Schoovaerts
  • 3rd place – Best Editorial Cartoon – Louise Laperrière
  • Honourable Mention – Top Volunteer – Kristina Jensen

2006

  • First Place – Best Ad Design – Josée Mainville

2004

  • First Place – Best Column – Chantal Turcotte

Links

Should you be interested in finding out more about community newspapers – and who wouldn’t? – you’ll find a few links below that may be of interest to you. Consulting these links will provide you with endless discussion fodder for those awkward elevator moments after the topics of the weather and last night’s games have been thoroughly exhausted. The odd looks people give you will stem from amazement and awe. Trust us on that.

Association des médias écrits communautaires du Québec

Canadian Community Newspapers Association

Prix

Vous ne serez pas surpris d’apprendre que l’Écho a remporté plusieurs prix au cours des années. Même s’il est produit par un groupe de bénévoles, dirigés par un autre groupe de bénévoles avec des titres plus imposants, l’Écho de Cantley a toujours un soucis de qualité.

Nous n’avons jamais remporté de prix majeurs simplement à cause d’un complot entre les grands conglomérats de médias internationaux nous empêchant de participer à leurs compétitions et de les dominer à chaque année. Du moins, c’est notre meilleure théorie sur le sujet. Vous trouverez ci-bas une liste des prix que nous avons bel et bien remporté:

Prix de l’Association des médias écrits communautaires du Québec (AMECQ)

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2008

  • 3ème place – Meilleure photographie de presse – Philippa Judd
  • Mention honorable – Meilleur bénévole – Gustaaf Schoovaerts

2007

  • 3ème place – Meilleur journal
  • 2ème place – Meilleur article de faits – Isabelle Lessard
  • 2ème place – Meilleure entrevue – Isabelle Lessard
  • 2ème place – Meilleur article d’opinion – Chantal Turcotte
  • 2ème place – Meilleure chronique – Gustaaf Schoovaerts
  • 3ème place – Meilleure caricature – Louise Laperrière
  • Mention honorable – Meilleure bénévole – Kristina Jensen

2006

  • 1ère Place – Meilleur conception publicitaire – Josée Mainville

2004

  • 1ère place – Meilleure chronique – Chantal Turcotte

Liens

Si vous êtes intéressé(e) à en savoir plus sur les journaux communautaires – et qui ne le voudrait pas? – vous trouverez ci-bas quelques liens qui pourraient vous satisfaire. Ceux-ci vous fourniront une quantité impressionnante de faits dont vous pourrez faire usage lors de ces moments d’ascenseur ennuyeux où les discussions sur la température et les sports sont déjà épuisées. Les regards étranges des gens autour de vous seront causés par leur stupéfaction et admiration. Faites nous confiance.

Association des médias écrits communautaires du Québec

Canadian Community Newspapers Association